Chief Doing Great Post-Op

We dropped Chief yesterday morning at 8 am for his surgery. He was shaking all the way there in the car. I think he was thinking we were going to go drop him at the side of the road or something. We got to the vet clinic and he was very calm once inside. We later picked him up at 6 pm and he was awake and walking around. Quite a difference from when I picked Ruby up last year from her surgery, she was like a little zombie and wouldn’t walk anywhere. Animal Technologist told us he was very sensitive to sedatives and anesthesia and only had to use half the dose.

Chief was whining all night, and we tried many sleeping arrangements. First in the laundry room where he usually goes, then up in our bedroom on the floor, then I took him to the living room and I tried sleeping on the couch (so Gary could sleep a bit). But he wouldn’t quit whining, poor guy. I ended up out of sheer tiredness, just putting him back in the laundry room, with the light on and putting in my ear plugs. I slept, not sure if he did but had to let him know I wasn’t going to be kept up all night by him. This morning he is full of energy, back to the old Chief. He must have slept a bit. Can’t wait for it to warm up in the next couple days, so I can take him for a walk.

Leave a comment